A Great Day Out

Hey gorgeous people this post is all about what I have been up to. First of all the weather is absolutely beautiful we have had a few bad days but the 14th May was absolutely fabulous. It was so sunny and warm we had to think of what to do. We thought people might decide to go the beach so we decided to go to a little piece of heaven in Co. Kildare. The Irish National Stud and Gardens.

101_0404.JPG

Our day started with a picnic outside the gardens. I packed in the bag, ham sandwiches, Jam sandwiches (a favourite of mine), yogurts, crisps, fruit, water and some chocolate.  When we had this finished our adventure began.

Prices here a quite reasonable €12.50 per adult, Children under 5 are FREE, children under 16 €7.00, however they do a family ticket 2 adults 4 children (under 16) €29.50. Students and Seniors are €9.50. The stud and gardens are open from February to November 9am – 6pm. They provide guided tours included in the price.

After paying in we began with the Japanese gardens. The gardens represent the journey through life from birth til death and all in between. The gardens were created between 1906-1910 by Tassa Eida. For a child the adventure is amazing they just explore and they find little nooks and crannies that you yourself would not see because as an adult we just follow the map.

When you have completed your journey the gardens you can if you wish grab a bite to eat in the onsite café. As we had our picnic before our adventure we continued onto the National Stud. I should mention here that as we paid in we were told by the receptionist that 4 foals had been born the night before. This was very exciting as up to 100 foals are born at the stud every year.

The first paddock we saw contained some living legends, two of which were Beef or Salmon and Hurricane Fly. Hurricane fly began life here as the plaque shows. The two legends I have mentioned happen to be my favourite racehorses.

As you move on you begin to see the foals. You can stand for hours just watching the foals jump around and play but this is done under the watchful eye of their mammy. The foals are so strong even that young, but watching them play is relaxing and fun. These truly are magnificent animals.

Across from the frolicking foals and their mammies is St Fiachra’s garden. St Fiachra was renowned for his charitable work & devotion to people in need. He encouraged the cultivation of gardens hence there is now one at the stud in his honour. This garden is so peaceful & stunning.

There is a museum on site too where you can see the history of the horse industry and see the remains of one of the most famous horses in the world Arkle.

If you would like more information you can find them at http://www.irishnationalstud.ie or on social media.

We are looking forward to our next trip, I have been a number of times and each time I see and learn something new.

EXPERIMENTING

So on Friday I was experimenting for dinner. I done a chicken stir fry. I know a chicken stir fry but I was more experimenting with taste.

In a pestle and mortar I bashed (take out some frustration) together 5 cloves and celery salt. I then flattened (again Frustration) out 2 chicken breasts then I cut it up into odd shapes. I browned the chicken off and diced up red and yellow peppers added this to the chicken. Once I put the noodles onto boil I added a garlic stockpot, the bashed clove & salt, soy sauce (light), worchestershire sauce and a dash of Rice wine vinegar. Once the noodles boiled I plated up.

This was experimental, it tasted lovely but I thin I will reduce he cloves the next time. I don’t have any pictures of this but will the next time.

As I am writing this I am thinking of what to experiment with today. It is chicken that I do know. I have a busy few weeks we had a 60th birthday during the week and we have 2 communions within a week. My goddaughter is making hers tomorrow and tomorrow week a very good friend has her daughter’s communion. I have been asked to make my little kisses. These are just baby meringues held together with buttercream. I will be doing pink buttercream on this occasion.

After this I have a get together with the family which I am really looking forward to. Think I know what I am going to do for dinner tonight, Potato and Carrot Rosti roasted in the oven with spiced chicken pieces, salad and coleslaw. Actually I am going to do turmeric chicken nuggets. Looking forward to the experimenting.

One thing I did try this week was the Mayflower Curry mix and if you ever wanted a curry mix that tastes like it has come from the local Chinese then this is the one. Divine Divine Divine.

Bye for now all you gorgeous people, hopefully I will have more photos of food next time.

 

Leave a comment